Pension Leadership Awards 2021

Canadian Investment Review’s Pension Leadership Awards


The Canadian Investment Review is pleased to announce the winners for the second annual Pension Leadership Awards.

Chief Investment
Officer of the Year

  • James Davis, chief investment officer, the OPSEU Pension Trust
  • Alison Gould, chief investment officer, the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation
  • Andy Greene, managing director, investments, the Toronto Transit Commission pension plan

Sustainable Investing Award

  • British Columbia Investment Management Corp.
  • Canada Pension Plan Investment Board
  • Pension Plan of the United Church of Canada

Innovation in DC Investment Award

  • Jeremy Cooper, partner, ITI Financial Inc.
  • Michael Dodd, associate vice-president, pensions, treasury and financial services, the Co-operators Group Ltd.
  • Tyler Downey, secretary treasurer, SEIU Healthcare

Money manager of the year*

  • BlackRock Asset Management Canada Ltd.

Fastest money manager climber – assets growth*

  • BlackRock Asset Management Canada Ltd.

Fastest money manager climber – percentage growth*

  • Black Creek Investment Management Inc.

* Please note that no nomination was required for the money manager awards. They were automatically distributed based on Benefits Canada’s most recent Top Money Managers report, which is developed using data from firms participating in the Canadian Institutional Investment Network’s Top 40 Money Managers’ survey.