Which companies are finalists in the 2018 Workplace Benefits Awards?

Benefits Canada is proud to announce the list of finalists for the upcoming 2018 Workplace Benefits Awards.

Winners across 10 categories will be announced at a luncheon event on Oct. 11 at the Arcadian Loft in Toronto. Buy your tickets today.

This year’s finalists are:

Absence management:

  • Ontario Power Generation
  • Staples Canada

Diversity program:

  • Fidelity Canada
  • Niagara Casinos
  • Scotiabank

Mental health:

  • Niagara Casinos
  • Staples Canada
  • Unilever Canada

Financial wellness:

  • Niagara Casinos
  • Public Health Ontario

Health and wellness (>1,000 employees):

  • Desjardins
  • Ericsson Canada
  • Niagara Casinos
  • The University of British Columbia

Health and wellness (<1,000 employees):

  • Public Health Ontario
  • Town of Richmond Hill
  • Unilever Canada

Benefits plan communications:

  • Royal Bank of Canada
  • Samuel, Son & Co.
  • Unilever Canada

Pension plan communications:

  • Coca-Cola Refreshments Canada
  • Windsor Salt

Pension performance:

  • Colleges of Applied Arts and Technology Pension Plan
  • Halifax Port ILA/HEA Pension Plan

Industry leadership:

  • Derek Dobson, CAAT pension plan
  • Jeff Aarssen, Great-West Life Assurance Co.
  • Mike Serbinis, League Inc.

Read: Workplace Benefits Awards’ winners celebrate success

Benefits Canada would like to thank platinum sponsor Morneau Shepell Ltd., and gold sponsors the Great-West Life Assurance Co. and Green Shield Canada for their support of the 2018 Workplace Benefits Awards.

We’d also like to thank the panel of judges that helped select this year’s finalists and winners: Sarah Beech, Accompass Inc.; Gavin Benjamin, Willis Towers Watson; Jordan Fremont, Hicks Morley Hamilton Stewart Storie LLP; Jean-Guy Gauthier, CQFD Actuariat; Marliee Mark, Marilee Mark Consulting; Karley Middleton, Hub International Strata Benefits Consulting; Sarah Murphy, Green Shield Canada; Colin Ripsman, independent consultant; Kim Siddall, Aon; Alain Sotto, Medcan; and Matthew Williams, Franklin Templeton Investments Corp. 

Special thanks also goes out to four of last year’s winners who took part in judging this year: Stephanie Enright, director of talent management and administration at Lakeside Process Controls; Mara Notarfonzo, director of human resources operations and total rewards at CAA South Central Ontario; Stacey Kennedy, program director of the mental-health efforts at the Co-operators Group Ltd.; and Sheri Wright, vice-president of stakeholder relations and communications at the Alberta Local Authorities Pension Plan.

Join us on Oct. 11 for the awards ceremony and luncheon. Buy your tickets here.

Read: 2017 Workplace Benefits Awards winners announced