Other Brieflies this week:| MON | TUE | WED | THU | FRI |

The National Quality Institute has announced the Canadian organizations that will receive awards for outstanding achievements in a healthy workplace, quality, and customer service.

Buffett & Company Worksite Wellness of Whitby, Ont. and American Express of Markham, Ont. will receive the Order of Excellence Award, the highest level of recognition presented by the institute. R.H. King Academy of Toronto and Vincent Massey Public School of Ottawa will also receive the award.

Toronto East General Hospital and Mississauga, Ont.-based Trillium Health Centre will both share the gold Organizational Quality and Healthy Workplace Award while Saint Elizabeth Health Care will take home the bronze.

Mississauga’s Industrial Accident Prevention Association (IAPA) will take home the gold Healthy Workplace Award and Fredericton’s New Brunswick Power will take home the silver.

The Quality Award winners are: City of Kamloops, gold trophy; IAPA, gold trophy; Hill & Knowlton Canada, gold trophy; Alberta Gaming & Liquor Commission, silver award; Alberta Municipal Affairs—Municipal Dispute Resolution Initiative, silver award; Alberta Seniors & Community Supports—Excellence in the Lives of Persons with Developmental Disabilities, silver award; Manulife Financial—Individual Wealth Management Operations, silver award; Ministry of Natural Resources—Southern Region, Peterborough, Ont., silver award; Forest and Range Evaluation Program—BC Ministry of Forests and Range, BC Ministry of Environment, silver award; Alberta Agriculture and Rural Development—Agricultural Education & Training, bronze award; Alberta Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission—Edmonton Youth Residential & Detoxification Treatment Programs, bronze award; Alberta Seniors & Community Supports—Graduated Supports Occupational Health & Safety Program, bronze award.

Since 1984, the Canada Awards for Excellence have been presented to private and public sector organizations of all sizes that are world class. The awards will be given out at a gala dinner at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre on Oct. 20.

• • •

AIMA Canada Announces Executive Committee

AIMA Canada has announced the membership of its executive committee for 2008-2010 and Eamonn McConnell is the newest member.

McConnell, the founding member of Manna Asset Management, joins the committee as deputy chair. He succeeds Tris Lett who is stepping down after five years of service.

“We are grateful to Tris for the important role he has played in the notable achievements of AIMA Canada, including the development of professional and educational materials and the launch of the AIMA Canada Research Award,” says AIMA chairman Phil Schmitt. “We look forward to his continued presence and contribution within the membership at large.”

Current executive committee members Phil Schmitt, chairman; Michael Burns, legal counsel; Andrew Doman, secretary; and Chris Pitts, treasurer, will continue in their present positions for an additional two-year term.

AIMA Canada was formed in March 2003 to act as the voice of the alternative investment industry in Canada and it now has 79 members.

Join us on Twitter