Fifteen leaders representing all sectors have been named to the National Steering Committee on Financial Literacy, including the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board’s Michel Leduc and the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association’s Frank Swedlove.

These new members will build on the work of the first committee, whose two-year mandate expired last year. The committee will continue to advise Jane Rooney, Canada’s financial literacy leader, on emerging trends, issues and gaps in programs and policies, and will explore solutions to address the financial knowledge needs of Canadians. 

Read: A look at Canada’s financial literacy strategy

The 15 members of the committee are: 

  • Michel Leduc, Canada Pension Plan Investment Board
  • Frank Swedlove, Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association
  • Camille Beaudoin, Autorité des marchés financiers
  • Andrew Nicholson, Financial and Consumer Services Commission of New Brunswick
  • Harold Calla, First Nations Financial Management Board
  • Jeff Cates, Intuit Canada
  • Terry Campbell, Canadian Bankers Association
  • Martha Durdin, Canadian Credit Union Association
  • Terry Goodtrack, AFOA Canada (formerly, the Aboriginal Financial Officers Association of Canada)
  • Greg Pollock, Advocis
  • Darren Hill, Junior Achievement of Saskatchewan
  • Elizabeth Mulholland, Prosper Canada
  • Kelly Stone, Canadian Association of Family Resources Programs
  • Joy Thomas, Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada
  • Patricia White, Credit Counselling Canada

Read: How to bring financial literacy into the workplace

Copyright © 2018 Transcontinental Media G.P. Originally published on

Benefits Canada Newsletter

For the latest industry news and opinions, sign up for our daily newsletter.

Add a comment

Have your say on this topic! Comments that are thought to be disrespectful or offensive may be removed by our Benefits Canada admins. Thanks!

* These fields are required.
Field required
Field required
Field required