Pension Leadership Awards 2020

Canadian Investment Review’s Pension Leadership Awards

We are pleased to announce the winners and finalists for the 2020 pension leadership awards. Congratulations to all the leading pension plans that have been recognized on this accomplishment.

Investment Governance Award
  • Concordia University Pension Plan - WINNER
  • Desjardins Group Pension Plan
  • United Food and Commercial Workers Local 1991-P Pension Plan
Sustainable Investing Award
  • Bâtirente - WINNER
  • British Columbia Investment Management Corp.
  • University of Toronto Asset Management Corp.
Chief Investment Officer of the Year
  • Julie Cays, Colleges of Applied Arts and Technology Pension Plan - WINNER
  • Robert Cultraro, Hydro One
  • James Davis, OPTrust
DC Investment Innovation Award
  • Co-operators Group
  • Marsh & McLennan Co.
  • Ontario Medical Association - WINNER
Risk Management Award
  • Canadian Broadcasting Corp. Pension Plan
  • Desjardins Group Pension Plan
  • Trans-Canada Capital Inc. (Formerly Air Canada Pension Investments) - WINNER

The Canadian Investment Review is also pleased to announce winners of the money manager of the year and fastest growing money manager awards.

Please note that no nomination was required for the money manager awards. They were automatically distributed based on Benefits Canada’s most recent Top Money Managers report, which is developed using data from firms participating in the Canadian Institutional Investment Network’s top 40 money managers’ survey.

  • Money manager of the year —TD Asset Management Inc.
  • Fastest growing money manager (>$10BN) — Baillie Gifford Overseas Ltd.
  • Fastest growing money manager ($1BN-$10BN) — Morneau Shepell Asset & Risk Management Ltd.
  • Fastest growing money manager (<$1BN) — Canadian Urban Ltd.