During the virtual 2020 Defined Benefit Investment Forum on Thursday, the Canadian Investment Review announced the winners of its inaugural Pension Leadership Awards.

The winners are:

  • Investment governance award — Concordia University pension plan
  • Sustainable investing award — Bâtirente
  •  Chief investment officer of the year — Julie Cays, the Colleges of Applied Arts and Technology pension plan
  • DC investment innovation award — Ontario Medical Association
  • Risk management award — Trans-Canada Capital Inc. (Formerly Air Canada Pension Investments)

Read: 2020 Top 40 Money Managers Report: How pension funds are playing defence amid coronavirus

During the awards, the Canadian Investment Review also recognized the money manager of the year and fastest-growing money manager awards, as compiled by the Canadian Institutional Investment Network and featured in Benefits Canada‘s 2020 Top 40 Money Managers Report.

  • Money manager of the year — TD Asset Management Inc.
  • Fastest growing money manager (>$10 billion) — Baillie Gifford Overseas Ltd.
  • Fastest growing money manager ($1 billion-$10 billion) — Morneau Shepell Asset & Risk Management Ltd.
  • Fastest growing money manager (<$1 billion) — Canadian Urban Ltd.

The Canadian Investment Review would like to thank the awards judges:

  • Chris Brown, president and chief executive officer at the LAPP Corp.;
  • Guy Burry, chair of the pension investment committee at York University;
  • James Davis, chief investment officer of the OPSEU Pension Trust;
  • Michael Dodd, director of pensions treasury and shareholder services at the Co-operators Group Ltd.;
  • Theva Naidoo, director of the pension fund at Hydro One Ltd.; and
  • Pamela Steer, chief financial and corporate strategy officer at Payments Canada.

Read full coverage of the Pension Leadership Awards here.