Pension Leadership Awards 2021

Canadian Investment Review’s Pension Leadership Awards

The Canadian Investment Review is pleased to announce the winners for the third annual Pension Leadership Awards.

Investment Officer of the Year Award

Duncan Burrill, chief executive officer, CBC Pension Plan
Derek Hurst, pension fund manager, United Church of Canada Pension Plan
Francois Quinty, director of investment management, VIA Rail Canada

Sustainable Investing Award

The University Pension Plan 
The Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan
The Alberta Investment Management Corp.

Innovation in DC Investment Award

Andrea Bartlett, director of people operations, Humi
Carol Craig, director of human resources, Telus 
Tracy Fogale, senior manager of compensation benefits, Kraft Heinz Canada

Pension Plan Communications Award

Goodyear Canada 
Niagara Casinos
Teamsters Canadian Pension Plan


The Canadian Investment Review also recognizes the money manager of the year and fastest-growing money manager awards, as compiled by the Canadian Institutional Investment Network and featured in Benefits Canada‘s 2022 Top 40 Money Managers Report.


Money manager of the year

  • TD Global Investment Solutions  ★

Fastest money manager climber — assets

  • Brookfield Asset Management   ★

Fastest money manager climber — percentage

  • NISA Investment Advisors, LLC 


The Canadian Investment Review would like to thank the awards judges:

Colyn Lowenberger, founding president and chief executive officer, Möbius Benefit Administrators Inc.

Ric Marrero, chief executive officer, the Association of Canadian Pension Management

Jennifer Paterson, editor, Benefits Canada 

Christine Stephenson, executive director, Peter P. Dhillon centre for business ethics, University of British Columbia's Sauder School of Business

Jason Vary, president, Actuarial Solutions Inc.,

Blake Wolfe, managing editor, Benefits Canada


Past Winners

2021 Award Finalists
 ( indicates winners)

Chief Investment Officer of the Year

  • James Davis, chief investment officer, the OPSEU Pension Trust
  • Alison Gould, chief investment officer, the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation
  • Andy Greene, managing director, investments, the Toronto Transit Commission pension plan

Sustainable Investing Award

  • British Columbia Investment Management Corp.
  • Canada Pension Plan Investment Board
  • Pension Plan of the United Church of Canada

Innovation in DC Investment Award

  • Jeremy Cooper, partner, ITI Financial Inc.
  • Michael Dodd, associate vice-president, pensions, treasury and financial services, the Co-operators Group Ltd.
  • Tyler Downey, secretary treasurer, SEIU Healthcare

Money manager of the year*

  • BlackRock Asset Management Canada Ltd.

Fastest money manager climber – assets growth*

  • BlackRock Asset Management Canada Ltd.

Fastest money manager climber – percentage growth*

  • Black Creek Investment Management Inc.

2020 Award Finalists ( indicates winners)

Investment Governance Award

  • Concordia University Pension Plan 
  • Desjardins Pension Plan
  • United Food and Commercial Workers Pension Plan

Sustainable Investing Awards

  • Bâtirente 
  • British Columbia Investment Management Corp.
  • University of Toronto Asset Management Corp.

Chief Investment Officer of the Year

  • Julie Cays, Colleges of Applied Arts and Technology Pension Plan 
  • Robert Cultraro, Hydro One
  • James Davis, OPTrust

DC Investment Innovation Award

  • Co-operators Group
  • Marsh & McLennan Co.
  • Ontario Medical Association 

Risk Management Award

  • Canadian Broadcasting Corp. Pension Plan
  • Desjardins Group Pension
  • Trans-Canada Capital Inc. (Formerly Air Canada Pension Investments)

Money manager of the year

  • TD Asset Management Inc.

Fastest growing money manager (>$10 billion)

  • Baillie Gifford Overseas Ltd.

Fastest growing money manager ($1 billion-$10 billion)

  • Morneau Shepell Asset & Risk Management Ltd.

Fastest growing money manager (<$1 billion)

  • Canadian Urban Ltd.

* Please note that no nomination was required for the money manager awards. They were automatically distributed based on Benefits Canada’s most recent Top Money Managers report, which is developed using data from firms participating in the Canadian Institutional Investment Network’s Top 40 Money Managers’ survey.