Benefits Canada is proud to announce the finalists of the 2020 Workplace Benefits Awards.

While this year’s entry and judging process occurred during the coronavirus pandemic, almost 100 leading employers embraced the opportunity to share their organization’s innovative initiatives and strategies. In fact, Benefits Canada even introduced a new category — Coronavirus and benefits — which received the most entries, so we divided it into two based on the company size.

The winners will be announced on Friday, Oct. 16 in a new virtual format, with a featured online news story running on and through Benefits Canada‘s social media channels — the Benefits Canada page on Facebook, the Benefits Canada group on LinkedIn and @BenCanMag on Twitter.

Read: Who are the winners of the 2019 Workplace Benefits Awards?

This year’s finalists are:

Coronavirus and benefits (>5,000 employees)

  • City of Toronto
  • Rogers Communications Inc.
  • Scotiabank

Coronavirus and benefits (<5,000 employees)

  • Alberta School Employee Benefit Plan
  • Labatt Brewing Co. Ltd.
  • TMX Group Ltd.

Mental health:

  • 3M
  • Cenovus Energy Inc.
  • Health Benefit Trust of Alberta
  • Scotiabank
  • The Workplace Safety and Insurance Board

Health and wellness:

  • 3M
  • CAA Club Group
  • Ericsson
  • Rogers Communications Inc.
  • Scotiabank

Benefits plan communications:

  • Kraft Heinz Canada
  • Oakville Senior Citizens Residence
  • TMX Group Ltd.

Pension plan communications:

  • ABC Technologies Inc.
  • Co-operative Superannuation Society Pension Plan
  • Ontario Medical Association

Read: Which companies are finalists in the 2019 Workplace Benefits Awards?

Benefits Canada would like to thank our sponsor Morneau Shepell Ltd. for its support of the awards.

We’d also like to thank the panel of judges that helped select this year’s finalists and winners: Sarah Beech, area president at Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.; Gavin Benjamin, Willis Towers Watson; Yaelle Gang, the Canadian Investment ReviewLinda Lewis-Daly, Lewis-Daly & Associates; Jordan Fremont, Bennet Jones LLP; Jean-Guy Gauthier, CQFD Actuariat; Julie Holden, Holden & Associates; Marliee Mark, Marilee Mark ConsultingJennifer Paterson, Benefits CanadaLizanne Reitmeier, Buck; Kim Siddall, People Corporation; and Dr. Alain Sotto, occupational medical consultant at the Toronto Transit Commission.

Special thanks also goes out to three of last year’s winners who took part in this year’s judging: Diana Godfrey, senior vice-president of human resources at Fidelity Canada; Chantelle Tadman, benefits and wellness lead at WSP Canada Inc.; and Thak Bhola, pension manager at Goodyear Canada Inc.

Read: Award finalists talk employee engagement, return on investment