Who are the winners of the 2018 Workplace Benefits Awards?

Benefits Canada honoured winners across 11 categories at the 2018 Workplace Benefits Awards in Toronto on Thursday.

In a room at the Arcadian Loft, more than 100 leaders in the benefits, pension and investment industry gathered to see awards presented to winning employers demonstrating the leading-edge work underway to improve employee’s physical, mental and financial health through tangible workplace programs.

The winners of the 2018 Workplace Benefits Awards are:

Benefits plan communications: Samuel, Son & Co.

Absence management: Ontario Power Generation

Diversity program: Niagara Casinos
Health/wellness program (under 1,000 employees): Town of Richmond Hill
Health/wellness program (at least 1,000 employees): Niagara Casinos
Mental health: Staples Canada

Financial wellness: Niagara Casinos
Pension plan communications: Coca-Cola Refreshments Canada

Pension plan performance: Colleges of Applied Arts and Technology Pension Plan

Sanofi wellness pioneer: The Regional Municipality of York

Industry leadership: Jeff Aarssen, Great-West Life Assurance Co.

Read: Which companies are finalists in the 2018 Workplace Benefits Awards?

Congratulations to all the finalists and winners. Thank you to this year’s platinum sponsor Morneau Shepell Ltd. and gold sponsors Great-West Life Assurance Co. and Green Shield Canada.

We’d also like to thank the panel of judges that helped select this year’s finalists and winners: Sarah Beech, Accompass Inc.; Gavin Benjamin, Willis Towers Watson; Jordan Fremont, Hicks Morley Hamilton Stewart Storie LLP; Jean-Guy Gauthier, CQFD Actuariat; Marliee Mark, Marilee Mark Consulting; Karley Middleton, Hub International Strata Benefits Consulting; Sarah Murphy, Green Shield Canada; Colin Ripsman, independent consultant; Kim Siddall, Aon; Alain Sotto, Medcan; and Matthew Williams, Franklin Templeton Investments Corp. 

Special thanks also goes out to four of last year’s winners who took part in judging this year: Stephanie Enright, director of talent management and administration at Lakeside Process Controls; Mara Notarfonzo, director of human resources operations and total rewards at CAA South Central Ontario;Stacey Kennedy, program director of the mental-health efforts at the Co-operators Group Ltd.; andSheri Wright, vice-president of stakeholder relations and communications at the Alberta Local Authorities Pension Plan.

For more details about all of the award winners, watch for stories on BenefitsCanada.com all next week.